North Swindon Library Sunday Reading Group recommend: Part 2….

The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas

The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas: a deeply thought-provoking novel about boundaries and their limits

We asked, in 2012, which book has stayed with you and why?

“I loved (or was unable to escape the worlds of) so many of these books – ‘Never Let Me Go‘ I think is a modern classic and ‘Out‘ and ‘The Slap‘ definitely grabbed me and crept into my subconscious.
However, ‘We Need to Talk About Kevin‘ was my absolute favourite.

Its moral ambivalence was truly stunning – but more than that, I found myself identifying with the narrator! Anything that can draw you deep into such an alien world has to be worth reading. An intelligent, complex, and ultimately troubling novel” (Vanessa)

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver: this hard hitting novel asks who is to blame for teenage atrocity…

This hard hitting novel asks just who is to blame for teenage atrocity? Narrator Eva Khatchadourian’s son, Kevin, murdered seven of his fellow high school students, a cafeteria worker, and the much-loved teacher who tried to befriend him. This novel is an examination of the effect tragedy has on a town, a marriage and a family….

Another reader also recommended ‘The Slap‘ by Christos Tsiolkas: “Because it was an angry book and although I did not like many of the characters it intrigued me: “the fascination of the horrible” – I like books that do this” (Sharron)….

In ‘The Slap‘, Christos Tsiolkas presents an apparently harmless domestic incident as seen from eight very different perspectives. The result is an unflinching interrogation of our lives today; of the modern family and domestic life in the 21st century, a deeply thought-provoking novel about boundaries and their limits….

