Meet the staff! Anish Noble-Harrison

Anish

At Summer Reading Challenge launch 2013

Where do you work: Across Swindon Libraries, but I’m based at the Central Library

What do you do: My job title is ‘Joint Lead, Outreach’, which means I am responsible for promoting our services to a wide range of partners and most importantly, the public. I also do other things, like funding bids and project management.

How long have you worked for Swindon Libraries: 6 1/2 years

When you were little what did you want to be when you grew up? I still don’t know! An archaeologist, a pirate, an astronaut and a musician were definitely on the list.

What did you do before you came here? I trained as a social worker and worked for children’s charities, helping children and young people have better lives.

What do you most enjoy about your job? I think Libraries definitely have a role to play in creating better lives for people, which is why I think the transition from social worker to library person seemed quite natural.

List three facts about yourself that might surprise people…

  • I do Kung Fu.
  • I am a trained scuba diver.
  • I have a two-year old son (maybe not surprising, but I just like talking about him).

What’s the most exciting thing you have ever done? Apart from being a mum, that would be going to Mexico and doing campaign work. I met some fantastic people whilst doing something I care about. Plus the evening roof-top parties were just brilliant.

Strangest request while working? Someone asked me if I could get double-yellow lines put outside her house. She didn’t even live in the Swindon area!

Favourite book? 1984. Although it made me cry

Favourite film? Too many to name. I love a lot of the Coen brothers’ movies, sci-fi, thriller, horror and, well, pretty much anything! I think films like ‘Pan’s Labyrinth’ have got to be up there though.

Favourite album? Too difficult, most blues artists are up there, along with a lot of soul, Americana, folk, funk, and rock acts.

 

