…and we have a winner!….

We had loads of  entries into our South West Reading Passport 2016: Book to the Future competition, but unfortunately there could only be one lucky winner for our local prize!

We asked readers to read 10 books, each one from a different decade. All Swindon entries went into a prize draw to win a bag full of books and other goodies representative of the decades of the last century.

Our Swindon winner was Kayleigh and she has been kind enough to write a little bit about some of the books she read:

” I took part in the Book to the Future reading competition after recommendation from a friend. I have loved reading since I was a child but in recent years I have neglected my books because I have been busy with university. The competition was a good chance to get back into reading again and I’m so glad I took part.

Having to read a book from each decade meant that I had a wide range of classics to choose from. I chose Of Mice and Men, Nineteen Eighty Four and Bridget Jone’s Diary amongst others.

My favourite book was Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf. It was written and set in the 1920s so I was surprised when I found the book enjoyable. The old-style and eccentric language used by Woolf made the book fun and I enjoyed imagining post-First World War London as I read along.

My second favourite book was Wild by Cheryl Strayed – a memoir describing her 1,100 mile hike along the Pacific Crest Trail following a rough patch in her personal life. I found the book very inspiring and it reminded me of hiking during my Duke of Edinburgh Award.”

Thank you to everyone who took part this year, and we hope you enjoyed your journey as well. Do let us know which books you enjoyed while reading through the decades!

Why not try some of the books that Kayleigh read and enjoyed. Click on the links to find out availability:

1920s: Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

1930s: Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

1940s: 1984 by George Orwell

1950s: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

1960s: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

1970s: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

1980s: Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

1990s: Bridget Jone’s Diary by Helen Fielding

2000s: The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

2010s: Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Bag of goodies!

